Skip to Main Content
8th Grade Social Studies: Resources for Civil War Research
Civil War Topic Research
Welcome
"War at the best, is terrible, and this war of ours, in its magnitude and in its duration, is one of the most terrible."
--Abraham Lincoln, June 16, 1864 Speech at Philadelphia
General Archive Websites
Archives are a good place to search for primary resources, including photographs! This column has many archival websites for you to search.
- Library of Congress
Database of primary sources - Harvard University Archives
Pictures of school life, artwork, and life from the 1800s through 1900s. - University of Vermont Archives
Civil War history included
General Websites for Resources
This column of websites, databases, and reference material may be helpful, but it may be harder to find primary sources on these.
- Discovery Education
Log in with school username and password
Databases
- Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
- Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
If you are working at home, the passcode is pl2448.
(if that doesn’t work, try school – all lowercase) - Power Library This link opens in a new window
You may need to use our school library e-card to access this. The number is
24752000776318 - Science in Context This link opens in a new window
- SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
If you are at home, the login info is:
Username: manheim
Password: central - Student Resources in Context-High School This link opens in a new window
Reference Resources
This column contains encyclopedia sites, ebooks, and search engines. These are more helpful for gathering background information on your topic rather than primary sources.
eBooks
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Search Englines
 |
|
| Kiddle lets you search like you do on Google - only safer. | |
 |
|
|
Ducksters has many historical facts about various time periods in history. |
|
 |
|
| Safe Search Kids is powered by Google to deliver strict internet filtering. |